I think I’ll stick to checkers

Okay so chess isn’t exactly my favourite thing in the world. I wanted to give it a fair shot and really understand how to play before I decided whether or not I liked it. Well I know the rules and am capable of playing a whole game… and I just don’t really like it. Not my thing.  I’ve been practicing online at chess.com  which is really a fantastic website. You can customize all the settings to changing the level of difficulty and hints it gives you and the speed of the game. I played against the computer but you can also play against other people in real time. It was a great way for me to practice up!

Here is a short screencast  of my playing against the computer-just to give you an idea of what it looks like. If you are interested in playing chess or wanted to gain some experience, I highly recommend this site!

Just a short sample, but you get the point. I ended up losing this match… Beat by the computer (sigh). My strategy isn’t exactly the greatest. (Okay, I have no strategy whatsoever). But the important thing is that I understand how to play chess!

c07ff66d5b (1)
My favourite form of self expression is through internet memes. Image from chess.com

At the beginning I was really hoping that I would turn out to be a naturally awesome chess player and would love it, buuuuuut that’s not the case. Not my thing. But that’s okay.  I went through the process of learning a new skill and can cross one thing off my bucket list. And I have a new game to play on my phone when I need to kill some time, and that’s the important thing right? 😉

Leave a Reply

